Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I recently purchased a 2001 Honda 929rr for cheap, it had some issues like red light and fi light on the dash, leaking forks, broken clutch safety switch connector, bad neutral safety switch,, servo motor bypassed improperly but the bike ran, rode great and sounded great, I instantly fell in love with it. Well i ordered most of the stuff I would need to fix the majority of these issues on my own, I'm new to working on motorcycles but I've rebuilt my fair share of engine bottom ends and a few transmissions in my driveway so I figured it couldn't be too hard

Well, upon replacing the neutral safety switch, adding a servo buddy (last owner had bypassed it but not added the buddy for the lights on the dash), and bypassing the clutch safety switch the bike started and still ran great as before, however the dash lights came back on after about a minute of idling. I also realized in doing this that the clutch safety switch only received ground signal when the bike was in neutral meaning the bike would HAVE to be in neutral to start regardless of clutch lever position. So, I looked up a wiring diagram and traced back the grounds from the safety switches that sits underneath the seat and gas tank and just Infront of the rear suspension with 5 green wires going to it. I removed the ground, cleaned it, and placed it back on with all five wires back on. While screwing it in I realized the red light and fi light on the dash flashed in relation to having a connection or not, assuming I fixed the problem I attempted to start the bike and it turned over but wouldn't spark. The bike had run great just a few minutes before this.