Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm pretty new to riding. Have had a 1995 honda cbr600 f3 for about 3 months now, with 45k miles on it. I am having two problems with it, one starting after it got out of the shop. It was in the shop for a carb cleaning and service. The mechanic installed a second fuel filter in between the tanks and carbs. Since then, it has difficulty starting. I have to give it gas in order for it to start and was wondering if the fuel filter could cause that, seeing as there are two filters on the bike. Secondly, the top speed is supposed to be around 150. I can only get it to about 110, and thats top gear 12.5k rpm. The engine just seems to be weak for a 600.... Anyone know what could cause this weakness? Its rather disappointing. Other than that it runs and idles great. Any helpful info will be greatly appreciate it.

·
Super Moderator
32,034 Posts
Hey I'm pretty new to riding. Have had a 1995 honda cbr600 f3 for about 3 months now, with 45k miles on it. I am having two problems with it, one starting after it got out of the shop. It was in the shop for a carb cleaning and service. The mechanic installed a second fuel filter in between the tanks and carbs. Since then, it has difficulty starting. I have to give it gas in order for it to start and was wondering if the fuel filter could cause that, seeing as there are two filters on the bike. Secondly, the top speed is supposed to be around 150. I can only get it to about 110, and thats top gear 12.5k rpm. The engine just seems to be weak for a 600.... Anyone know what could cause this weakness? Its rather disappointing. Other than that it runs and idles great. Any helpful info will be greatly appreciate it.

Maybe the filter is backwards or blocked.
Either the gearing is very low or your clutch is slipping - or your speedo is wrong.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4