Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i'm getting sick of the old 929er, i want a new bike but since i'm a college student you know how things go............sooooo, i want to gear the bike, what is a good gearing ratio? like 4 up in back and 2 down in front too much? what should i do? and most important, is there anything i can do to re-calibrate my speedometer so it reads the correct speed? thanks guys :idunno:

·
Registered
6,318 Posts
batman said:
Hello, i'm getting sick of the old 929er, i want a new bike but since i'm a college student you know how things go............sooooo, i want to gear the bike, what is a good gearing ratio? like 4 up in back and 2 down in front too much? what should i do? and most important, is there anything i can do to re-calibrate my speedometer so it reads the correct speed? thanks guys :idunno:

:popcorn: :pointup: :thumb: :clap: :evilaugh:

·
Registered
14,390 Posts
That would be an enormous gearing change, and a ratio like you mention would normally used by a stunta. A type of rider that will get mercilessly flamed here as you may have noticed. Possibly explaining H-D's reply...

Drop one in front, add 1 or 2 in the rear and you will see a huge change. Just drop the one in front for like $20...that will make a noticable difference for very little scratch.

Ahlman, I think it is, makes a recalibrator.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
luvtolean said:
That would be an enormous gearing change, and a ratio like you mention would normally used by a stunta. A type of rider that will get mercilessly flamed here as you may have noticed. Possibly explaining H-D's reply...

Drop one in front, add 1 or 2 in the rear and you will see a huge change. Just drop the one in front for like $20...that will make a noticable difference for very little scratch.

Ahlman, I think it is, makes a recalibrator.