Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

after accident debrief

4K views 30 replies 5 participants last post by  zero937 
#1 ·
Disclaimer: I am really new to bikes! so if this is a really dumb question...well thats prolly why
so i was doing a burnout in my backyard, ATGATT WAS in effect mind you, and it was going ok and then my bike caught and...well...i launched, popped a wheelie and i pulled the clutch in and my bike kept going. needless to say i ran into something and flipped over my bars and dropped the bike. my question is this:
why did the clutch not disengage and bring the bike down? was it just that i had too much momentum and it just kept going? i couldnt find the rear brake in time to try to bring the bike down.

#2 ·
Disclaimer: I am really new to bikes! so if this is a really dumb question...well thats prolly why
so i was doing a burnout in my backyard, ATGATT WAS in effect mind you, and it was going ok and then my bike caught and...well...i launched, popped a wheelie and i pulled the clutch in and my bike kept going. needless to say i ran into something and flipped over my bars and dropped the bike. my question is this:
why did the clutch not disengage and bring the bike down? was it just that i had too much momentum and it just kept going? i couldnt find the rear brake in time to try to bring the bike down.
Momentum.
You need to close the throttle and the engine braking will slow the bike down.

#4 ·
Surprised thats the only thing you broke!

+1 with Blade, the same as if you were to pop it up onto a paddock stand and dis engage and re engage the clutch the rear wheel would spin until the drag of the bearings/brakes etc would stop it.

#5 ·