Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently running the Castrol R4 (5w40 ) ,thinking my bike will hopefully shift a little smoother,and run cooler, switching to the Amsoil 20w50 . Anyone prefer this weight of oil over the lighter weight synthetics out there ? I'm here in Florida, so i'm not running it in 20 degree temps ,so no worries of 'cold start up ' friction problems normally associated

·
Registered
6,731 Posts
Amsoil is good oil, one of the best IMHO. However, your Blade calls for 10w40, I'd stick with that. Typically, 20w50 is for air-cooled V-Twins.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hondgal, i used to run the cheap Castrol 20w50 dino oil in my Zx10 with no problems. Just wondering if my 929 will shift better with the heavier/superior 'synthetic' ? Not really worried about the weight, it's hot as a mofo here in FL in spring/summer, so the oil viscosity get's like water almost .I'm new to Amsoil ,so i'm hoping the " hype " about it will actually help with it shifting /cooler running like they claim . I know alot of companies hype their products up a little too much

·
Registered
6,731 Posts
True, the 20w50 won't hurt anything at the temps by you, I'm up here where it's colder, and my twin with 20w50 won't start unless it's warm enough. :) I noticed slightly better shifting with my 929 when I switched to full synth. I use Amsoil. Nothing super dramatic, though. Mine's running cooler, but that's due to the water/water wetter combo more than the oil. Or so it seems to me. I think any good synth will help. A lot of guys swear by the Motul 300V. I just can't readily find it around here.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter #6