Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
6,134 Posts
Very true.

If it's short term or something, like you need to lease a car for 1 year as a work vehicle (IE write off on your taxes) then it can be a good idea.

·
Registered
14,224 Posts
Interesting factiod for y'all a shearing for me:
I just received my notice for all of my license plates. My CBR is $4 less than my 2000 GMC P/U. So I gear up for battle :rockets: but on investigation it seems the #$%% in Mobile tax cars at 15% and bikes at 20% :crap: Of course if it was a leased motor vehicle it would be 15%, yes I feel a project coming on :mad:

·
Registered
11,499 Posts
lease it down to a dollar buyout and don't pay more than 6% interest. I'm a manager at a car dealership. There is nothing wrong with leasing if the price is right.

Also keep in mind that there is a markup on used vehicles at a dealership of 3-5 grand. Don't EVER pay more than 3 grand under their list price on a used vehicle.

Best of luck

·
Registered
8,824 Posts
sheepofblue said:
Leasing any car is a bad idea.
I tend to agree.

In general, I believe leasing is for rich folks. As reality would have it though, the people who aren't always in a position to lease wind up doing so.

I've leased one car in my life, a then new '96 Toyota Camry. Never again.

·
Registered
10,531 Posts
JamesEarl15 said:
Lease......................................................= :nono: . That is like leasing your wife. You'' like her for 3 years then, dang you have to take her back
Leasing can actually be the better option in certain situations. Not always, but there are leasing opportunities that save a bunch over a "traditional buy" where you're actually (in simplified terms) doing nothing more than leasing it for a longer period from a bank.
As for giving it back, you never have to do that. In fact, it is the stupid thing to do. If you like it, just buy it. If you don't, sell it and pay it off like you would any other car.

·