Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

So basically, late last night I was riding home, and was on motorway. My bike was low on fuel, but should have been enough for the 20 mile ride. So bike ran out of petrol. When I was looking around, I saw the choke was still on, I've never done that before in 30 years but did it today. So that explains why I ran out of fuel. Having filled up again the bike will not fire at all, no spluttering, nothing, was really not expecting that, as the bike runs exceptionally well for it's age. Issues that are worth noting, is that some time ago, the reserve tap stopped working, i.e. I now fill up an am putting in about 4/5ths of the fuel I used to put in, so this does point to a blocked fuel tap, I don't want to address that issue here as I have another mint condition tank that I want to protect for ethanol and so the fuel tap will be replaced anyway, but it's information about the fuel system, I have no issue with it except that I now go 100 miles on the trip meter then fill up.

So troubleshooting so far:
Dancing blue devils:
I took off the left most plug cap and put a screwdriver in there to check for a spark, which there was, so happy that the ignition system is still fine up to plug caps. I still have not seen the plugs themselves as it's not a quick job on the 94 fireblade and I don't like to poke around without a plan in place.

Firewater:
So in the daylight I can see the fuel filter, it's clear enough to see fuel. So I shut the fuel tap to off and spun the bike over to empty some of the filter to see a level and see if it was moving also and all was fine, so fuel is moving through the fuel filter so it must be getting to the carbs.