Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I need to run one java app for Windows XP. In the past, I've installed older versions of JRE from java.com. However, I find that some malicious website would take advantage of me and start running java scripts w/o my permission.

What is the minimal configuration (even if it's an older implementation) that one needs to run java? Obviously, I need more than javaw.exe. Is there a way to install the latest version and then rip out what I don't want? I already tried a custom install and no go.

I probably don't need anymore than the java applet runtime, however, I tried an older version of a java plug-in (before being forced to d/l the whole JRE) 1.1.3, and the application won't work.

Am I even asking the correct questions? I'm a java newbie as of July 22, 04 @ ~4:22 am.

·
Registered
3,586 Posts
The first thing we should clear up is that Java and JavaScript are not the same thing. A brief distinction is outlined in the below webpage.
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=154585

Basically the JRE that you download at www.java.com is the minimal install of java. However you can limit the permissons it has within Internet Explorer once you have installed it (see the below link). However this could have deterimental effects on running applets in webpages. While you are at it you can also change the permissions that JavaScript and other active components have in your browser if you are so inclined.

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315674

If you are concerned then you can disable java as status quo and then enable it when you come across a webpage with an applet in it which you want to install it.

In theory the Java Sandbox that it runs within when it runs an applet should prevent it from doing anything bad to your system without your premission, but as with all things IT there are no gauruntees.

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)