Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to my Blade and I can not seem to get my gear changing correct. On my other bikes I do not have to think about changing gears and all is good, but on the Blade I seem to have to think about my gear changing or I get clunky gear changes. Is it me or is the nature of the beast? Problem seems to be worst at slow speeds.

As a foot note I seem to have a lot of back lash when on and off the gas. Again is this just me or do I have not have her set up properly?

·
Registered
10 Posts
check your sprockets for bad teeth or chain for kinks, make sure you have a straight chinline and correct tension -
I just changed out to a 520 chain and steel sprockets - smoothest tightest shifting ever on this bike -

Mike

·
Premium Member
32,034 Posts
I am new to my Blade and I can not seem to get my gear changing correct. On my other bikes I do not have to think about changing gears and all is good, but on the Blade I seem to have to think about my gear changing or I get clunky gear changes. Is it me or is the nature of the beast? Problem seems to be worst at slow speeds.

As a foot note I seem to have a lot of back lash when on and off the gas. Again is this just me or do I have not have her set up properly?
If you're used to riding non-Honda you'll find the lever throw is longer on the Honda so can take some getting used to.
The driveline lash is most likely a very slack chain or worn chain and sprockets.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I lost full movement in my left ankle years ago, that would explain the prob with the long throw (which I did not think of). I lowered the lever and there is a bit of improvement. I will keep going with that one.