Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a little bit concerned with the chain on my bike! The chain has still got some life in it according to the wear gauge on the adjuster and it is correctly adjusted too.

When ive got the bike on the rear paddock stand and then spin the rear wheel by hand, at one particular point the wheel goes tight and takes more effort to rotate. I have also started the engine and put the bike in gear and let the back wheel spin gently by itself which results in a regular 'clonking' sound that is coming from the chain/wheel?

I have only ridden it 20 miles or so lately and havent noticed anything on the road. Am I worrying about nothing?

·
Registered
582 Posts
Got the same with mine, just ordered new chain and sprockets. If it breaks when your riding it the chain could cause real damage either to you or the bike. It will cause engine damage!

But i'm no expert, sure someone will step in.

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
Replace it because you have too much variation meaning it's very difficult to get proper adjustment. Something is going on like seized links or no lubricant left. I'm guessing it's quite old being a 900 and you really can't go entirely by the markings on the swing arm.

Inspect your sprockets as they may be used up as well. Chain and sprocket kit may be your best bet.

·
Registered
900 Posts
You have a tight spot....its common, try lubing the chain first, will take a while to sort it self out, just make sure when you adjust your chain, do it when it is at its tight spot, or you will dammage your bearing on the drive shaft.If it hasnt freed up after 4-500 miles change it if you dont like it, make sure the sprockets arnt worn.:thumb:

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #5