Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I can't take it anymore so I emailed Power Commander to see if they can replace/repair this thing. There were some threads about losing their maps over the winter (read long periods without battery). I've determined my PCIII last maybe a couple days then requires the reloading of the map. It is very obvious now to notice the PCIII is not loaded or running correctly. All it takes is starting off in first gear, right at the 3500RPM surge, if smooth, PCIII is loaded and running Mori map, if surges (like stock, without PCIII) the PCIII requires reloading. Same with cornering throttle and overall throttle smoothness, if surging and abrupt PCIII requires reloading.

I explained everything in my email to them and will see what happens. The odd thing is that the cell information or settings are in the PCIII. When I retrieve the current map, the values match the map, but unless I 'Upload' the map, its as if the PCIII isn't even there. I basically have to reload everytime I ride, with a laptop.

This has been happening since I've had this thing, 2 years? I don't know why the EPROM or whatever is not working but I want this thing replaced. :rant:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well I got a VERY quick response from Power Commander (Mike).

David,
which version of software do you have? There was a bug a long time ago
where what you are describing would happen. A fix was implemented in a
later version of software. You can download the latest version with the
fix at http://www.powercommander.com/suppsoft.shtml (the one on the
left). This may cure your problem. Just reload the map one more time and
the software will correct the bug.

If you are still experiencing problems we can warranty the unit, but we
need to have your current unit before a new one can be sent out.

I am sorry that you have had so much trouble up to this point. Had you
contacted us sooner we would have corrected this problem for you.

Regards,
Michael Belcher
Director of Fuel Injection Development


I'm going to reload the newer version and see what happens. This is one of the best responses I've gotten from a vendor trying to resolve a problem for me. :thumb:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,731 Posts
Excellent! I've had good customer support from them in the past, too. My first unit (early one, they seemed to have a lot of problems) crapped out and they sent me a replacement. Since I only had a slip-on at the time, I was skeptical and tossed it in the closet. When I was thinking of a full system, I installed it to make sure it worked. It's been in for a couple of years and it's been fine. HG, otoh, has been having problems with hers lately. If the battery goes dead or gets weak, out goes the map. I'll have her check her software version, although I'm quite certain she has the latest.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
HondaGalToo said:
... HG, otoh, has been having problems with hers lately. If the battery goes dead or gets weak, out goes the map. I'll have her check her software version, although I'm quite certain she has the latest.
Yup, the version posted on the DJ site is the software version I'm using. It's worth a try SuperDave but I cannot figure out how the software for the desktop is going to correct the 'bug' in the PC3 unit when the only thing that gets uploaded is the map file, if that's the problem. :idunno: It's worth a shot especially since there have been no complants that I've heard of in a long time with PC3 units.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top