Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I want to know if anyone has used or is using Dyna beads, they are small ceramic balls that go inside your tire to balance the tire instead of using outside rim weights, you can look it up on youtube, Im trying to change my tires soon and I want to do them right. thanks :patriot:

·
Registered
39 Posts
I use them and I swear they work. Don't ask - I'm an engineer and the more I think about it the more confused I get. The company says "think of it like laundry on the spin cycle. it finds the balance" which is bull because my machine practically falls over sometimes from the imbalance on the spin cycle. Motorcycle tires cup, it's fact of life. I got 10,000 miles out of a set of Avon Storms on my FJR and no problems. These Dyna Beads are ceramic beads that are PERFECT spheres. So perfect that when you rub them in your fingers it feels like liquid silicone. They're about a third of a millimeter in circumference and you get 1 ounce for the front and 2 for the rear. I re-use them and put them in before I inflate. It's much easier than pouring them in through the valve stems.
Like I said, they work and I don't want to know how. It's just nice not needing to go through the balancing process and have weights on my wheels. Plus you get continuous balancing throughout the life of tires.
You may want to try them, you may not. I was skeptical and went for it. Now I won't go back.
One side note - Avons don't have any marking for a light or heavy spot so I just threw the tires on and went. Dunlops want you to position the yellow dot at the valve stem (they figure this is the heavy spot on the wheel - not always true), the yellow dot is supposed to be the light spot of the tire. I did what they said and no problems.

·
Registered
104 Posts