Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just been reading a link about having a 954 as a first bike. I have noticed a lot of riders across the pond seam to start on large bikes, ie 600, 750, 1000cc. It might just be me but i find it amazing that anyone would start on such a powerfull bike for your first time, in the uk most people like my self started on 50cc bikes, then went on to 125cc then 250/400cc. and then went for a 600/750/1000. I have been riding for 30 years now and i believe i am still alive today mainly through luck but also through learning step by step, so when i did get it wrong i wasnt riding at high speed on a heavy bike. Just interested to know why our American friends start so big.:idunno:

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
Everything is BIG in America Rick. I hear what you are saying for sure. My own experience in Canada (which is basically the same as the States in most things) and abroad is that in the UK or other place over there, practicality is a motivator behind choosing a bike or anything for that matter. All vehicles are small over your way and small bikes are very cheap and practical. You may then move up if you get more out of a bike than just transportation.

Over here, bigger seems better although not a wise choice sometimes as you say. You really don't see smaller bikes around much. So with peer pressure as it is and to be with the in crowd, the tendancy is to start with a larger bike than they should. Hopefully they live through the learning stage but unfortunately many times they don't. Guess it's a culture thing!

·
Registered
303 Posts
Very well put denzee!
Most with a passion for racing, want the fastest or best handling bike they can afford or just get their hands on, riding knowledge or not!! I think most would go bigger than the 600 if their pockets would allow for insurance.:cycle:

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #4