Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody and fellow riders. Let me first begin by saying after searching through this website you all seem like an extremely knowledge bunch of riders where I believe I can fit it. A bit of history about myself first. I've been riding for many years but nothing new (as in bikes). For some reason I prefer the older bikes and never miss the opportunity to pick up the proverbial basket case for cheap and throw caution to the wind. My current bike that I am riding is a 1992 Kawasaki ZX750R that I picked up for 300 bucks and completely tore it down and redid everything. I think it's the satisfaction I get at the gas station, store, where ever and a fellow rider pulls up and says WOW, I haven't seen one of those in twenty years and in such great shape. The reason I am here though is because I came across a 2002 Honda CBR 954 RR Fireblade for a price I couldn't pass up. The problem is (According to the previous owner he parked it for the winter and after pulling it out each time he tried to start it it would pop the FI fuse). Well, he had no idea what he was doing so he ripped out the wiring harness trying to find a short and after getting thoroughly frustrated decided it was time to let it go. So now it sits in my garage stripped down ready to begin the restoration. I know I am going to have question as this will be my first ever Fuel injected bike so let the adventure begin.

Jim

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hello!
Maybe a bit obvious, but did you try to read the fault codes?
There is a connector under the rider seat (red if I'm not mistaken) that is free. You need to short out the connection and count how many times the FI light comes on. Also the duration of blinks (long and short). Long= 10 short =1
1 long and 2 short = fault code 12
List of codes:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/814669/Honda-Cbr954rr-2002.html?page=118#manual

·
President: Team Full Chat