Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly hello to everyone, I'm a newbie here!
I've come across a rolling chassis for a honda cbr400rr 89'.
No electrics or anything, now me and my dad are looking to do a bit of bonding and build one.:cool:
I've seen engines on ebay, whats the difference between a CBR400RR engine and a CBR400RR Aero engine?
I'm looking at the NC23 as I see parts are most available for that engine.
What will I need to get this engine running?
What I have on my list is an engine, carbs, a loom, exhaust, clocks.
Will I need and ECU?
Do these bikes have a fuel gauge? I was thinking of running a gravity fed tank if i can't find a pump in time. That won't be a problem will it, just how will i know when i'm low on fuel?:hmm:
If anyone could give me some advice on what i will need to get the bike running, that would be great.:D
Thanks
Ben

·
Premium Member
6,492 Posts
Hi Steppinlevels and :welcome:
I won't be able to help answer all your questions, but at least I can help by getting the ball rolling:

I've come across a rolling chassis for a honda cbr400rr 89'.
Then for ease of work, it will better to go for a late NC23 engine or the NC29. For ease of reference and locating parts, it would probably be better sticking as closely as possible to the original NC23 (I think).

No electrics or anything, now me and my dad are looking to do a bit of bonding and build one.:cool:
Between the wiring and engine, this is going to be an expensive way of putting a bike together. It will be cheaper to buy a bike with parts attached even if the engine has blown up. You'll still have enough work to do together.

I've seen engines on ebay, whats the difference between a CBR400RR engine and a CBR400RR Aero engine?
Mainly power and the odd sensor mount and engine mountings I believe.

I'm looking at the NC23 as I see parts are most available for that engine.
What will I need to get this engine running?