Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,
I need to get a replacement urgently, as I've just been put on probation for 12 months after doing all my points.

Need to ride Harry Citizen from now on, so fixing everything on bike.

Could someone kindly point me in the right direction to find a replacement 1998/9 indicator switch block, as they are discontinued and I can't find one anywhere.

If anyone has another idea: i've heard that an auto-electrician could install a universal alternative for me. Is this right? how do I get one?

I'm not at all mechanically-minded (I'm a mathematician in training and a snake-handler with below average mechanical skills:eyebrows: )

Thanks in advance for any help.
godfreysown

·
Registered
791 Posts
What's the fault? maybe you can fix or rewire it.

If not then the left handlebar switch is the same on all years 92-99. Can't be that hard to find?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What's the fault? maybe you can fix or rewire it.

If not then the left handlebar switch is the same on all years 92-99. Can't be that hard to find?
Thanks Amorti.
Sweet! I was told by the mechanic who normally takes care of my bike that he had been unable to find that particular year part. But what you say makes me hope I can find a part to do the job.

It is definitely the switch as I the flasher has been replaced and 2 new indicators and the wiring checked by auto-sparky.

I'll make my search wider.

thanks again mate,
godfreysown

·
Registered
791 Posts
Yebbut, what's the fault?

If the switch does nothing at all - you can eliminate the switch by crossing the wires at the connector block, then you know if the switch itself is faulty.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yebbut, what's the fault?

If the switch does nothing at all - you can eliminate the switch by crossing the wires at the connector block, then you know if the switch itself is faulty.