Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, guys:
Do u guys always go back to the shop to do service or somewhere else?  For those experienced DIY guys, I know u guys probably will never visit shop's service department, so this is probably not your question.  I am a newbie here cannot do any services myself except change flush mount, canister, screen shield those non-technical task.  Is the dealership always ideal or best place to do service or somewhere u guys can recommand?  I am at San Jose, CA bay area.  Thank u for you guys' precious info and suggestions.

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
I service mine myself, but I'm a qualified car mechanic, so the bike is not hard to work on.
Check other guys in your area to find out who is offereing good service, go talk to that shop, ask them questions and if you are happy, take the bike to them, but remember price is not allways a good recommendation

·
Registered
8,824 Posts
If you can do bolt-ons as you've talked about, you can do the oil and filter changes and chain maintenance too. You'd best leave the periodic valve adjustments to the pros, but you'll save yourself a bundle doing the regular maintenace and will feel good about doing the work yourself.

Now get out there to the garage and start wrenching!

·
Registered
16,568 Posts
Unless it involves tearing into the motor I'd do it myself(unless you're a mechanic) It always gets me more familiar/comfortable with the bike. I feel better knowing what kind of oil is in it, how much exactly, etc etc

·
Registered
1,119 Posts
I do some, and let the shop do some.
I used to sell bikes, and do believe in a 1st service though.
A good shop will look over the whole bike to make sure all nuts and bolts are tight, as well as check proper adjustments.

That said, do yourself a huge favor and by a shop manual if you do your own work!
Proper Torque Specs are key for safety I think!!

·
Premium Member
6,731 Posts