Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
Newbie here, Swede :)
Just bought a CBR 400R Aero-87, NC23 engine. Vacuum carbs. It won't rev over 8-9k. The vacuum throttles sticks vibrating on 50% open. If I lift them manually i get a smooth 14krpm. Cleaned the carbs, checked the diaphragms and all is fine.
Suggestions on next step? Fuel pump issue? Other ideas?
Grateful for all input!!

Regards,
Fredrik

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi Fredrik
Is the engine breaking down (missing) at 9K or just stop revving? There could be several issues. Does it do it when at a stand still, or as you are riding? Sounds like ignition, but need more info!!

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Hi!
Newbie here, Swede :)
Just bought a CBR 400R Aero-87, NC23 engine. Vacuum carbs. It won't rev over 8-9k. The vacuum throttles sticks vibrating on 50% open. If I lift them manually i get a smooth 14krpm. Cleaned the carbs, checked the diaphragms and all is fine.
Suggestions on next step? Fuel pump issue? Other ideas?
Grateful for all input!!

Regards,
Fredrik

What do you mean by "lift manually"?

More info if possible.... cheers

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok. Here's what I have so far: It's the same w/wo load. It just revs on at 9000, like it would at top revs normally. The vacuumthrottles does not open more than approx 50% where they stop, vibrating, like there isn't enough vacuum to lift them. If I assist them with my hands while carefully increasing the gas it revs up to 14.500 (red).Sounds fine all the way, no misfiring. First I thought it was a vacuumproblem but all membranes are good, carburettors clean.