Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to honda liter bikes, but not to motorcycles. I owned a 636 previously, and was unfortunately the victim of motorcycle theft.

5 months later, I now have a 2002 cbr954rr in my secured 24hr storage unit a few blocks down from my apartment. Not taking any chances this time! She's got what seems like endless torque down low, but that's not saying much seeing what I came from. When I picked her up, I checked for all the tell tail signs of what it would need (16k miles, sitting for 2 years). Tires had a bit of dry rot, left fork seal was leaking, some hints of rust in the tank, a rusty chain, and no mirrors. It looks as though the bike was just painted (and painted well I might add, no runs or anything) gloss black. It looks pretty sharp.

Mods: 2 brothers stainless exhaust, but it looks like a full system, the headers run straight down, and are all purple and blue-like.

But anyways, that's for a picture thread. Onto the questions:

1) It seems a bit cold-natured, when I start her up initially, it takes a couple seconds, and I have to give it a little throttle.

2) It smells rich, when I start it, it seems like it's dumping fuel in the exhaust, and just smells rich in general

3) When I'm at a light, or just in general, occasionally, if I revv her up (not to redline of course) when it falls back down to idle it'll die.

4) it studders a little below 3k, and then I get a surge of power (but I believe this to be charactaristic of these early 2000's fireblades, even my friends 07 had surging at 3k)

Here is what I think is the problem:

1) Cold bikes suck sometimes, I had an 06 636, and it being newer, stock, and small displacement, it fired right up every time, could be that

OR

A full exhaust system without a tune would not provide the backpressure a stock ecu needs to fire right up

2) Again, without tuning on a full system, it might be rich