Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing some tinkering with photoshop for a while and decided to actually go buy a book about it...you know, a little semi-formal instruction so to speak. Anyway, I figured I'd start a thread for people who like to tinker with their pics to share some neat tips and tricks if you have any. I'm currently trying to get a handle on layers and this is my first attempt although I cheated and used a blank layer and the clone tool. For some reason I couldn't simply copy and paste the two seperate images.

·
Registered
3,549 Posts
I actually was very good at using Corel Xara many years ago, and had a great handle on layers, but for some reason, photoshop has always seemed to be a mission to accomplish anything, almost like it is too complex. I know it's probably the top program for this sort of stuff, but anyway, that is my rant - which book did ya get? I ought to buy it and learn...

Z..

·
Registered
4,725 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Photoshop 7 for Dummies, of course! I'll move on to the more technical books after I figure this one out.

·
Registered
11,098 Posts
I really want to take a class at the local community college...just never seem to find the time...aarghhh

·
Registered
10,531 Posts
Open the two pics, and on the one you want to be the 'background' hit the 'create new layer' button.
Then, with the 'move tool', click and hold on the other pic and just drag it to the 'background' pic. Now you can adjust opacity, shadows, etc. It may create a blank layer, but just delete it if you'd like.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
I have an entry level version of PhotoShop and I find that is has some nice powerful filters and the like but a lot of thins (like text) just seem overly complex to accomplish.

I also run PaintShopPro 7 and I just love it. Light (loads faster), easy to use (applies filters fast) and produces good results.