Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any of you guys have a career that has nothing to do with what you studied in college?

I'm having some doubts about what I want to do when I get out. I'm almost done (6 months if I graduate, 3 months if I flunk out). I have my bachelors already and interned at a few places related to my studies, but nothing really got me fired up. I got bored quick.

How easy is it to get a job not related to your degree?

·
Registered
14,224 Posts
Wow a serious lack of information.

I have a BSEE but most of my jobs have been in computers or systems engineering. A degree just gets you in the door then you can get experience and find your niche. The other thing to remember is most degrees fit a wide variety of jobs so find yours. For instance I prefer scientific programming with some systems work. However I could easily get a job in management, programming of a variety of stuff, or systems engineering.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a BSCE, currently attempting MS. I interned at both government and private.

I actually had a job with the city when I first finished school. It was so boring, I was practically getting paid to sit on my ass. It was the most tedious, meaningless, and mindless job on earth. It was like watching paint dry. There was practically no engineering being done. It was mostly cost analysis on projects. Almost all the engineering was farmed out to private firms. That place was a joke. The starting pay and benefits were great, but I couldn't stand the work I was doing. I could have lived a reasonably comfortable life had I stayed but instead I quit after 3 months and went back to school.