Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had my DK forks on my bike for about 100 miles now. They don't move very freely. I mean the motion is not 'fluid ' at all. If i lean on the front end, the forks compress in a series of fits and jerks, like 1/2 inch at a time. I have set the sag but because of the sticky motion i am sure that the sag is not correct. Do i just need to ride it more to break them in?

The forks also make a bit of a clunk when they compress that can be felt through the bars, and heard. The fork bolts have been tightened to factory specs. I have no previous experience with custom forks, so i am not sure what to expect. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
14,390 Posts
Factory specs meaning you torqued them right?

Did you get new seals? This does not sound right.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes they were torqued using the proper tools. Reading my post again, i would say 1/2 inch is exagerating a bit. the forks just don't move that freely, and they will definatly stick in various stages of compression. I can bounce hard on them and they move throughout the travel, but thay aren't silky smooth like i have heard they should be. As far as the parts that dan changes when he does tha valving, and spring change i don't know. Does he replace the seals and all?

·
Registered
160 Posts
AB954 : I have had my DK forks on my bike for about 100 miles now. They don't move very freely. I mean the motion is not 'fluid ' at all. If i lean on the front end, the forks compress in a series of fits and jerks, like 1/2 inch at a time. I have set the sag but because of the sticky motion i am sure that the sag is not correct. Do i just need to ride it more to break them in?