Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1350 miles on the '02. Last week I took it out and heard and felt a considerable thunk down low at my first stop. I could feel it thru the pegs. Almost like the sidestand snapped up or was loose, but it was obviously already up. Listened for it again but it didn't happen during the fifty mile ride. Next time I take it out, same thing! Always at the first stop. Pull in clutch, finger the front brake, downshift-split second later- "Thunk". Fine after that. Today it was worse. Louder thunk, and I thought I could feel and hear a secondary small thunk after shifting the next few times. Is my clutch assembly disintegrating? The weird thing is that after the initial loud thunk and vibration, the bike seems to shift smooth and normally. But something ain't right. I'm new to Blades and have searched this site for clutch problems but haven't found one that sounds like mine. Any advice would be appreciated. :confused:

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
CBRJack,

Yeah, I thought of that, but the movement/thunk is coming from below. I can really feel it in the footpegs.

·
Registered
10,811 Posts
No idea what the problem may be, but don't stress over it - that is what a warranty is for :nod: . Let "them" figure it out.

You DO still have a warranty I hope, right?

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Bacchus,

:( GULP. No, It is not still under warranty. But I'm not beating myself up about that. It's just that I've come to love this bike already and now my baby has a problem. Call it parental concern. Plus I'm one of those neurotics that can't rest until everything's perfect. Guess I'll take it in the shop in the next few days and let them poke and prod. Odd that it clunks once, then seems fine. If the clunks weren't getting louder/stronger, I wouldn't worry about it at all.

·
Registered
4,804 Posts