Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still learning how to mount my own tires.....I'm getting better, but still occasionally make a chip or a scratch.
While doing a set this weekend, I got to wondering....

How the hell do you have the sack to attack a set of carbon rims....

·
Registered
10,811 Posts
Baketech : I'm still learning how to mount my own tires.....I'm getting better,
Easy! First you slowly sneak up on one. Get it in a prone position and then proceed to throw a leg over - the rest should come naturally

·
Registered
11,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Badda bing....I'm here all week folks...don't forget to tip your waiters and waitresses....I'll be in the lobby signing autographs after the show....try the pork tar-tar....

·
Registered
224 Posts
On the rear one I can almost do with out irons. After I botched a front tire swap and scratched up the rim, I now spend coin and have someone with a machine do it. My secret: I just use plenty of soap and make no attempt to keep myself clean and it gets done.

·
Registered
6,134 Posts
Been there done that. I had Knight's setup for 1 tire change and axed it. We have 1 guy locally (Works at a Honda shop no doubt) that uses a machine and won't scratch the rims. It is an art if you are using a pobre setup in your garage. If you have the machine, it's much easier.

·
Registered
11,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
SoCal...I managed to do my rear this time without irons....I was stoked....

A friend of mine has a Coats 220, so that helps to make the job easier.....

·
Premium Member
2,692 Posts
SoCalRider : On the rear one I can almost do with out irons.
I've decided that until I do this enough to be good at it, scratches are going to occur (That is what touch-up paint is for).