Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
I have also been watching these rotors with a weary eye. If you check out their feedback, the people who have gotten them seem happy. The only thing I can see that may be bad is they are only 3.5mm thick. Now thats nice to decrease the rotating mass, but I believe it makes them more prone to warping under heavy braking situations. I'm not a mechanic or a metallurgist, but thats was my first thought.

·
Super Moderator
32,034 Posts
It says they're 5mm thick though on that page.
Thinner discs can be more prone to warpage and boiling your fluid as they can't dispose of the heat as quickly.

·
Registered
467 Posts
5.0 - 5.5 mm seems to be the thickness of most oem rotors. I would not feel comfortable with 3.5mm rotors. As cheap as they are, it would blow if they warped easily and had to be treated as a consumable and replaced regularly like the brake pads.

·
Registered
833 Posts
I want to know who makes them first....I don't see a manufacturer listed anywhere on the entire page.

·
Registered
258 Posts
yea the price is very attractive but I wonder if it's just the fact that manufacturing is cheaper in asia, the material/quality is lower, or a mix of the two.

It does say the rotors are 5 mm thick... the thinnest that comes OEM on any bike is 4.5mm on the front rotors.

also their designs are straight rip-offs of genuine companies like Braking (for the rotors) and Sato (for the rearsets). China doesn't really care about patents or copyrights and I'm leery of supporting such plaigarists

·
Super Moderator
32,034 Posts
I've swapped email with Toby Huang last year as they do titanium machinework as well.
Don't think I actually had to do any dealings with him at the time but he seemed helpful.
He was considering titanium disc carriers but I think I managed to convince him it was a pointless exercise.

·
Registered
258 Posts