Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
3,301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to wait to buy a house for atleast 4 years. I would like to start something (an interest building account) that is locked (meaning I CAN NOT touch it till 4 years are up) and I dont know what is out there. Any of you finance gurus care to give me ideas of where to stick my money?

·
Registered
11,499 Posts
You can lock it up in a term deposit... probably only pay 3 or 4 points but it's guaranteed and you can't access it.

edit: I'll bet if you were to ask your banker they would have some sort of "home savings plan" tailored to exactly that purpose.

·
Registered
14,224 Posts
Disclaimer: I am not an expert

I would recommend 6-12month CDs (or money market if the rate matches). While you may earn less you will not lose principal. Given your timeline you are on the edge of a long term investment but I would think the risk out weighs the gain. Also I would not let the convince you to go longer term since return rates are rising.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
I don't know how it works in the states but I know that I used a first time home buyers plan with my RRSP's they let you withdraw all of your investments and use them as a down payment, giving you 15 years to pay them all back intrest free...Pretty good deal if you ask me. Ask your banker/investment person if they know of anything similar?

·
Registered
14,224 Posts
Northern RR said:
I don't know how it works in the states but I know that I used a first time home buyers plan with my RRSP's they let you withdraw all of your investments and use them as a down payment, giving you 15 years to pay them all back intrest free...Pretty good deal if you ask me. Ask your banker/investment person if they know of anything similar?
NEVER do that in the US. The loan is due if you leave the company (voluntarily or not)

·
Registered
1,657 Posts