Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have been looking at what sport bike to buy and I believe the 929 is the one for me. I want to get your opinion on the 929 and how it has stood the test of time. I plan on just using it for street riding but I might someday want to try it at a track. I have 3 yrs riding experience on a honda magna and a honda xr650l. I am looking for something faster and more fun for the road. Maybe light stunts too but I don't know yet.

1. Are there any problem you have had with your 929? Specifically, what are common problems to the bike?

2. Since it was produced for only 2 yrs do you think it will be hard to get parts for in a few yrs?

3. How do you like it riding it on the street? Is a steering dampner bascially a requirement for safety sake or is it very manageable and safe without one?

4. Is there a different bike you would get (sport bike) instead of the 929 knowing what you do now? I had been thinking of a gsxr 750 as well but I gather that the honda is more comfortable, has better low end torque, and is better manufactured.

5. Is there anything special I should pay attention to when looking to buy one? I have experience with cruisers and dirt bikes but sport bikes are new to me. Anything sneaky people do with sport bikes that I should especially watch for?

Thanks,
Dan

·
Registered
3,983 Posts
I did 18,000 miles in 15 months on my 2001 929 and it was awesome when I sold it... Nothing but oil changes and gas...

There were two recalls to check on, a quick call with the VIN to a honda dealer will clear it up. There was a short hose on the tank that a recall made longer and a clutch basket recall as well. Make sure its had both if it needed it, otherwise as long as its had regular oil changes, high miles or anything like that is nothing to be concerned with...

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
I loved my 929 right up to time i killed it